This is a tutorial on how to disconnect an app from your Facebook account. If you’re a Facebook user, you’ve most likely logged in, connected, commented, shared, or liked content on the internet through some third party app. It requires you to authorize the app access to your Facebook information as shown in the featured image above. Vine, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube are just a few examples of companies that ask for this information. Most of the time, there isn’t any harm in forgetting about these authorizations, even long after you’re done using a service that requires it. The issue lies in the fact that we may do this so many times, that we eventually forget about most of the services using this feature. And in the long run, many of them will just flat out fail and could end up rogue, putting your information (and your friends) at risk. I looked at the apps I had connected in the past 4 years and couldn’t even remember most of who they are, thus deleted them and decided to make this tutorial.

Step 1

settingsphoto (6)

Go to Facebook.  As of today, the settings icon will be the last icon on the right, in the top blue menu bar. Click on “settings” under the settings icon as highlighted in the image. On mobile, tap the “more” icon on the bottom right, and scroll down to the settings icon.

Step 2

gotoapps

photo (3)

Find the apps section on the left hand side of your screen and click on it. This will bring up a list of the apps you have granted access to throughout your years of using Facebook. On mobile, you may have to scroll down a bit but the same icon is shown. Tap this to be taken to your list of approved apps.

Step 3

deletingapps

photo (5) On desktop, you can now just scroll through the list and click the “x” next to any app you want to revoke access to. On mobile, you will select and app by tapping on it,  then tap once on the big blue button at the bottom. You can also see other information on the app such as what it requires from you and whether it can send you push notification via your smartphone.

 

That’s it! Now you know how to complete a task most companies would rather you didn’t. Your personal information and browsing habits are valuable to companies and sometimes, it’s even convenient for us. But just in case you want to eliminate the large amount of apps building and collecting your information, now you can. Share this tutorial with everyone and stay protected. Thanks.